Program Awards

The Department of Community Development has a proud tradition of recognizing excellence among students and community members dating back to the 1970s. Each year the department presents five awards:

James Bayer Leadership Award— This recognizes a graduating student selected by a vote of the graduating class.

Dr. Glyn Bissix Leadership Award— This recognizes a senior student selected by the Community Development Faculty.

Dr. Alex Wright Award for Outstanding Scholarship— Presented to a graduating student by the Community Development Faculty.

Lyle Davis Community Engagement Award— Presented to a returning Community Development student who demonstrates the exceptional qualities for which Lyle Davis will be remembered. Lyle was an inspirational leader who embodied an active lifestyle. He was optimistic, fun-loving, deeply connected to others, and lived life fully.

University Medal— Presented to the graduating student with the highest grade point average

Community Leadership Award— Presented by the Community Development Faculty to an outstanding person who has demonstrated exceptional commitment, competence and success over decades to building community capacity at many levels.